Trienal de Arquitectura de Lisboa

Shortlist for the Début Award revealed

29 SEP 2022 - 05 DEC 2022
Various venues in the city of Lisbon
Curatorial Team: Cristina Veríssimo, Diogo Burnay, Anastassia Smirnova, Jose Pablo Ambrosi & Loreta Castro Reguera, Pamela Prado & Pedro Ignacio Alonso, Tau Tavengwa & Vyjayanthi Rao.
CCB/Garagem Sul, Culturgest, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, EDP/MAAT Foundation, Millennium bcp Foundation / MNAC - National Museum of Contemporary Art.

The shortlist for the Lisbon Triennale Millennium bcp Début Award is now public. Honouring the principles of Terra, the 6th edition of the Triennale, this year’s selection presents a broad geographical diversity from both hemispheres of the globe.

Atelier Tiago Antero – ATA (Portugal)
Atelier Tropical – Valerie Mavoungou (Congo)
Ben-Avid (Argentina)
messina | rivas architectures (Brazil)
Nana Zaalishvili (Georgia)
Rohan Chavan (India)
Valeria Savinova (Russia)
Spatial Anatomy (Singapore)
Vão (Brazil)
Vertebral (Mexico)

The international jury responsible for this selection highlighted that “If the début projects of any architect indicate their future path, from the ten Début practices shortlisted it is possible to imagine the future work of an entire generation. There is much that can be learned from these young architects, hailing from different continents, about emerging standpoints on sustainability, social equity and community inclusiveness. The Début finalists prove once again what architecture can do, but, more importantly, what it should do in the present and at the service of our time.”

This award aims to celebrate new voices and forms of practice and contribute to the young professionals’ creative, intellectual and professional growth at a crucial and potentially transformative stage in their career with a €10,000 prize. The winner of the Début Award will be revealed at an open event during the opening days of the Triennale 2022, September 30.

Applications for this prize are open, worldwide, to individuals up to the age of 35, or collectively to an architecture studio below that average age. In past editions, the jury awarded Spanish the Spanish studio Bonell+Dòriga (2019), Umwelt from Chile (2016) and the American architect Jimenez Lai of Bureau Spectacular (2013).

The Lisbon Triennale Millennium bcp Début is awarded after an independent selection with two distinct phases. First, through an open call for self-proposals. At the same time, the Triennale invites dozens of international architects* to nominate those they consider worthy of this award. The set of proposals is then made available to the jury, which selects the list of finalists and the winning practice.

For this edition, we received 95 applications from 38 countries: Portugal (22), Spain (10), Mexico (5), Argentina (4), Brazil (4), Italy (4), United Kingdom (4), The Netherlands (3), Russia (3), United States (3), Chile (2), France (2), Ireland (2), Lithuania (2) and Switzerland (2); we also received one application from each of the following countries: Austria, Bahrain, Bulgaria, Congo, Costa Rica, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, India, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Nigeria, Paraguay, Poland, Singapore, Thailand, and Venezuela.

*In 2022, the nominators were: Alice Rawsthorn, Ana Dana Beroš, Bekim Ramku, Carlos Mínguez Carrasco, Chuka Ihonor, David Basulto, Denise Scott Brown, Ethel Baraona Pohl, Eve Arpo, Fabrizio Gallanti, Hanna Dencik Petersson, Herbert Wright, Jimenez Lai, Joanna Wasko, Josephine Michau, Julija Reklaitė, Marina Otero Verzier, Martynas Germanavičius, Matevž Čelik, Mimi Zeiger, Nathalie Weadick, Olamide Udoma-Ejorh, Paul Preissner, Paula Nascimento, Saimir Kristo, Sevra Davis, Shumi Bose, Sini Parikka, Taro Igarashi, Vera Sacchetti, Victoria Thornton and Zahra Ali Baba. 

Cristina Veríssimo (Portugal)
Diogo Burnay (Portugal)
N'Goné Fall (Senegal)
Yael Reisner (Israel)
Zhang Ke (China)