Trienal de Arquitectura de Lisboa

Universities from all continents in the 2022 Triennale Competition

29 SEP 2022 - 05 DEC 2022
Various venues in the city of Lisbon
Curatorial Team: Cristina Veríssimo, Diogo Burnay, Anastassia Smirnova, Jose Pablo Ambrosi & Loreta Castro Reguera, Pamela Prado & Pedro Ignacio Alonso, Tau Tavengwa & Vyjayanthi Rao.
CCB/Garagem Sul, Culturgest, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, EDP/MAAT Foundation, Millennium bcp Foundation / MNAC - National Museum of Contemporary Art.

The Lisbon Triennale Millennium bcp Universities Award Competition 2022 closed registration on January 7, 2022, with an impressive number of entries. In total, there were 94 individual and collective registrations, from 56 universities located in 23 countries. The five most representative countries are Portugal with 41 state and private school registrations, the USA with 13, and Switzerland, France and Canada with 4 registrations each. As for the distribution by participation category, among the registrations submitted by professors and research coordinators, 65% refer to master's projects and 35% are in ​​research. Regarding the themes, 28% relate to the exhibition Cycles, 27% to Retroact, 23% to Multiplicity and 22% are associated with the reflection proposed by Visionaries.

For the first time, the award which has allowed faculties to participate in the Triennale since 2007 has two categories of participation: this year, master’s courses and research centres are both the source of this knowledge production of in architecture and other project-oriented related disciplines.

The jury, made up of the Triennale 2022 curatorial team will select the proposals to integrate the contents of the four central exhibitions in the Triennale 2022, Terra, from September 29 to December 5. For the final evaluation to choose who is the winner, the jury members also includes the curator and co-founder of the Berlin-based publishing house Ruby Press Ilka Ruby.

The submission of proposals has been extended until February 7 (instead of January 31) and the results on who will proceed to the second stage of the competition are announced in early March 2022. In this first stage, proposals are selected to integrate the four exhibitions and in the second stage they are reviewed and developed for the exhibition context for which they are intended, with the curators, for a new submission by June 20. At this stage the jury selects the proposals to be awarded.

The proposals can take different formats, physical or digital, including video, virtual reality, printed publication, physical model, installation or prototype, and the curator will work on the characteristics - format and dimensions - with the authors and proponents, so that they may integrate the exhibitions, already in an advanced stage of definition.

It is with great pleasure that we see the five continents represented in this competition, which grants it an enormous diversity and plurality of projects, something the Triennale cherishes in its activity. The award ceremony takes place at the end of September, on the opening days of this 6th edition.

List of Faculties and country of origin in the registrations:

Academy of Arts Architecture and Design in Prague (Czech Republic)
Academy of Fine Arts in Prague - AVU (Czech Republic)
Bergen School of Architecture (Norway)
BNTU - Belarusian National Technical University (Belarus)
CENTRO - Centro de Diseño y Comunicación (Mexico)
CHRIST Deemed to be University (Bangalore)
City College of New York - CUNY (USA)
Cornell University (USA)
Dalhousie University (Canada)
Design Academy Eindhoven (The Netherlands)
École Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Saint-Etienne (France)
German University in Cairo (Egypt)
Harvard University (USA)
Haute École d'Ingénierie et d'Architecture Fribourg - HEIA Fribourg (Switzerland)
Haute École Spécialisée de Suisse Occidentale (HES-SO) (Switzerland)
ISCTE - University Institute of Lisbon (Portugal)
Kazan State University of Architecture and Engineering (Russia)
MEF University (Turkey)
National Architecture School of Versailles (France)
Northeastern University (USA)
Pennsylvania State University (USA)
Pontifícia Universidad Católica de Chile (Chile)
RMIT University (Australia)
Ryerson University (Canada)
The Royal Danish Academy (Denmark)
Tulane University (USA)
ULB - Université Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium)
Universidad de Talca (Chile)
Universidade da Beira Interior (Portugal)
Universidade de Coimbra (Portugal)
Universidade de Lisboa - FAUL (Portugal)
Universidade de Lisboa - ISA (Portugal)
Universidade de Lisboa - IST (Portugal)
Universidade do Minho (Portugal)
Universidade do Porto - FAUP (Portugal)
Universidade de Porto - FEUP (Portugal)
Universidade Lusíada de Lisboa (Portugal)
Universidade Lusíada do Norte (Portugal)
Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias (Portugal)
Universidade Portucalense (Portugal)
Università degli Studi di Ferrara (Italy)
Université Gustave Eiffel (France)
Université Laval (Canada)
University College Cork & Munster Technological University (Ireland)
University College London - UCL (United Kingdom)
University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland - FHNW (Switzerland)
University of Art and Design Linz (Austria)
University of Camerino - UNICAM (Italy)
University of Campinas (Brazil)
University of Gent (Belgium)
University of Lausanne (Switzerland)
University of Queensland & Queensland University of Technology (Australia)
University of Virginia (USA)
Yale University (USA)