Jump to main content
Trienal de Arquitectura de Lisboa
© Letícia Carmo
© Letícia Carmo
© Letícia Carmo

Palácio da Ega – Arquivo Histórico Ultramarino

  • Original Authors:
  • José Manuel Negreiros ,
  • Manuel da Silva Girão ,
  • Fortunato Lodi
  • (Séc. XVI-XX)

  • Interventions:
  • Jorge Segurado ,
  • Vasco Regaleira
  • (1993)

The original core of Palácio da Ega, now occupied by the Arquivo Histórico Ultramarino, dates back to the 16th century. But Salão Pompeia, part of an expansion project dating from the 18th century and classified as a public interest site in 1950, is the space that arouses the most interest. Its concentric shape, illuminated by rectangular windows overlooking the gardens, is reminiscent of its former functions – music, dancing, social and leisure rooms. Luxuriously decorated, its walls show eight tile panels representing important European port cities. Owned by the Saldanha family, the Palace went through embellishment works promoted by the 2nd Count of Ega, Aires José Maria de Saldanha. During the French invasions, it hosted parties attended by General Junot, who was friends with the owner. As state property since 1919, it was remodelled in 1931 to house the Arquivo Histórico Colonial. It is fascinating to see how this space adapted itself to methodical and repetitive functions.

Calçada da Boa-Hora, 30
Get Directions

Public Transportation
Bus: 714, 727, 732, 751

Palaces and Convents


Photography allowed

Loading Animation