Trienal de Arquitectura de Lisboa

The names behind the awards of the Triennale 2019

21 plus 14: the math is simple and means twenty one judges from fourteen different countries. The Triennale Millennium bcp awards is composed of a plurality of languages and perspectives in architecture, meaning an heterogeneous choice.

The Début Award is selected by Ana Dana Beroš, from Hungary; Anna Ramos Sanz, from Spain; Fosco Lucarelli and Mariabruna Fabrizi, from Italy; Go Hasegawa, from Japan; Joaquim Moreno, from Portugal and Sofia von Ellrichshausen, from Chile. The Award for Universities is chosen by Anna Rosellini, from Italy; Eugeni Bach, from Spain; Laurent Esmilaire and Sophie Deramond, from France; Patrícia Barbas, from Portugal; Tristan Chadney, from the UK and Véronique Patteeuw, from Belgium.

For the Lifetime Achievement Award, judges are: Amale Andraos, from Lebanon and the United States, Claudia Taborda, Portuguese in Australia, Enrique Walker, from Argentina, Éric Lapierre, from France, Kunlé Adeyemi, from Nigeria, Momoyo Kaijima, from Japan, and Sharon Johnston, from the United States of America.

The Début and  Lifetime Achievement Award awards embrace different moments in the career of an architect and reward their artistic consolidation. The first one is dedicated to collective or individual talents under 35 years old and can be submitted until 26 March. Previous editions awarded talents such as Jimenez Lai, from Bureau Spectacular, in 2013, and, in 2016, Umwelt, from Chile. Like in the “The form of form” and “Close, closer”, this year’s prize is also €5000.

The Lifetime Achievement Award distinguishes a consistent and excellent practice in architecture, impelling their work and recognizing their importance within the field. Since 2007, the award distinguishes critical thinking and an exquisite approach in architecture. Last editions’ winners span from the work of Italian Vittorio Gregotti, in 2007, to the imposing career of portuguese master Álvaro Siza, in 2010, from the theories of british academician and critic Kenneth Frampton, in 2013, to, finally, in 2016, the architectural approach of french studio Lacaton & Vassal. Leonor Antunes was commissioned the artwork for the award. For the first time, both winners - Carreira and Début - get together for a unique conference, where perspectives and experiences will be up for discussion and presentation during the opening week (from 3 to 5 of October), at CCB.  

Open for applications until 30 April, the call for the 5th edition of the Universities Award Competition is still open: design a community center to Marvila, an eastern territory in Lisbon. The invitation allows all master students to participate, regardless of their nationality. The award consists of one first prize and up to two honourable mentions, besides the presence of the selected works at the main exhibition, “Natural Beauty”. Last editions’ winners were FAUP, with a proposal for Sines, in 2016; “Dream Factory” from RCA, in 2013 and, in 2010, a project for Cova da Moura, made by UAL and Institute of Agronomy.

The architects work is highlighted on each Triennale by a jury – to whom we thank for their valuable contribution – consisting of: 

Lifetime achievement Award: Anne Lacaton (Lacaton & Vassal) Conference, CCB, The Form of Form, Triennale 2016


Lifetime Achievement 2016: Andres Lepik, Bijoy Jain, Cecilia Puga, Jorge Figueira, Juan Herreros and Niall Hobhouse

Début 2016: André Tavares, Fernanda Bárbara, Luís Santiago Baptista, Margarida Jover, Mimi Zeiger, Tetsvo Kondo and Tim Abrahams

Universities 2016: André Tavares, Diogo Seixas Lopes, José Carlos Varela Lima, Marta Labastida, Nuno Mascarenhas, Paulo David, Ricardo Pereira and Rui Mendes

Universities Award: Fábrica de Sonhos, Sinel de Cordes Palace, Close Closer, Triennale 2013


Lifetime Achievement 2013: Beatrice Galilee, Gonçalo Byrne, Guilherme Wisnik, Juhani Pallasmaa, Mónica Gili, Taro Igarashi and William Menking

Début 2013: Beatrice Galilee, Diogo Seixas Lopes, Eva Franch i Gilabert, Ou Ning and Tatiana Bilbao

Universities 2013: Bjarke Ingels, Luís Santiago Baptista, Mariana Pestana, Minsuk Cho and Philippe Rahm

Universities Award, Fundação EDP – Museu da Electricidade, Let's Talk About Houses, Triennale 2010


Lifetime Achievement 2010: Online pool for a shortlist of 3 nominees 

Universities 2010: Augusto Mateus, Diogo Seixas Lopes, Inês Norton de Matos, Lieve Meersschaert and Manuel Aires Mateus

Announcement Universities Award Competition, Camões Theater, Let's Talk About Houses, Triennale 2010


Lifetime Achievement 2007: Álvaro Siza

Universities 2007: Fernando Rafael Pinto Coelho, Manuel Graça Dias, Pedro Bandeira, Ricardo Aboim Inglez and Ricardo Bak Gordon


At a time when critical mass has been rising and becoming internationally known, awarding the talent of our professionals represents a boost to their career and intellectual development. The Lisbon Architecture Triennale and the Millennium bcp Foundation, patron since its creation, believe that in a country with consistent academic foundations and where multiple internationally acclaimed talents are born and still grow, it is strategic to recognize those who contribute to this very important economic circuit.